Makeup

In the day, when my mind is too busy to think

I am happy

At night, when my mind is free

My sadness is ocean deep


Happiness

Sadness


In the morning

I start with my foundation

Then I comb my hair

Mascara

Eye-liner

Blush

Lipstick

Smile.


In the light of day

I am held together

My foundation helps with coverage.

And I can smile

Because that’s what pretty girls do.

Smile.

Beauty of makeup?

It covers emotions to

I look pretty

I am happy.


At night

In the shower

I wash it all away with my Avon

And I wipe myself down

And look in the mirror

At my stripped face.

Exposed

Vulnerable

I can finally feel.

Until I realize:

feeling doesn’t feel so good.

I feel nonetheless.


Beauty of makeup?

It covers feelings to.


Pity it can’t make them go away

Tears.

4 thoughts on “Makeup

  1. Interesting poem Kendell. We depend on attachments or externals to give us a sense of self worth don’t we? What you relate here is true of many people in life. When I focus too much on myself the tendency is to see inadequacies which make me feel bad. I have found it is a good practice to remove my mind from myself and my problems and think of others. This makes me happier.

    Like

    • Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.
      I feel like we need to face our feeling head on in order to learn to live with them and eventually conquer them. While it is easy to just think about something else or let something else occupy your mind it’s also redundant. I guess that’s why I write, to make sense of my feelings. Writing is both painful and cathartic for me because it’s painful to face my feelings but healing to know that I’m moving forward. I’m really not sure yet what this poem was about, or I can’t put it into words…. I’m still processing.
      Thanks again for reading.

      Like

      • Its a great poem Kendell. I’ll have to take a second and if possible a third reading to see if I can better know the poet’s mind. Just keep shining through your work. Bye for now as I take off for a new post on my site.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. And that is why I´m miserable, I don´t use make up. Actually most of the man probably feel miserable but won´t say it, except the transgender ones 😉

    Like

Leave a comment